The history of Eppan
Box graves and burial objects, numerous walled settlements (for example in Perdonig) and the late bronze age settlement of Gamberoni have all been found in the area, pointing to early settlers around Eppan. Via Claudia Augusta probably led through the present-day municipality, although its exact course is not known.
Historians suspect that the name Eppan come from a Roman landowner by the name of Appius. Recently in St.Pauls, an area of Eppan, remains of a Roman villa with floor mosaics from the 4th century and baths were found during construction work, and it is thought that this may have been a house belonging to Appius. The first authentic mention of the area was in 590 by Paulus Diaconus in connection with the Franks' advance southwards. At the time, the area around Eppan belonged to the Lombard duchy of Trento.
In the High Middle Ages, the counts of Eppan fought with those of the Tyrol for dominance over what is today known as South Tyrol. The parish church in St.Pauls, which measures 86 meters in height and is known as the "cathedral in the country", is testament to the early prosperity of the municipality. The church was built between 1460 and 1647 and was begun in a Gothic style, but eventually finished with a Baroque onion dome. St. Pauls was the old center of the municipality along with nearby Burg Altenburg, which served as the seat of the court.